Language Immersion Stay at Cara's

United Kingdom
Ashburton
English
From 600 € / week
  • Profil, E-mail
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
Your message:
For everyone's safety and the smooth running of the website, the content of messages is subject to moderation. It is forbidden to mention your name or personal details.
The contact details of your guest or host family will be sent to you by e-mail as soon as the booking is confirmed.
Please fill in this field

NEW/NOUVEAU !! Family of 4 in Eco home between Dartmoor and the sea

I'm Cara and I live with my husband Glyn and 2 kids aged 10 and 6 and live in the lovely small town of Ashburton in an eco house that we built ourselves. We live on the edge of town within walking distance of the shops but it's in the countryside with lovely views. Our guest room is a huge double room with a double bed with great views. Ashburton is on the edge of Dartmoor which is great for walks and exploring and the town has quirky little independent shops, an arts centre, lots of coffee shops and an outdoor swimming pool that is open in summer. Its' near the river which we swim in in summer. We are 32km from Exeter and 40km from Plymouth. I am a photographer and my husband is a healthcare researcher and a DJ and we both work from home. Both of us have teaching English as a foreign language qualifications and did some teaching on our travels. We speak English at home and our kids speak English. Myself and Glyn speak some Spanish and have traveled a lot around the world.

  • Houseold:

  • Cara (Mother)
  • Glyn (Father)
  • S (Child • 10 ans)
  • C (Child • 6 ans)

Max number of hosts at the same time:

4 people
  • Accept:

  • 10-18 years (girl - boy)
  • 18-25 years (girl - boy)
  • Adult (woman - man)
  • Senior (woman - man)
  • Couple
  • Groups and families

Maximum number of people at one time would be 4 only if they were part of the same family. The room arrangement would be 2 in a double room and 2 in a twin room (or all 4 together in one large room if it was very young children). Our house has wheelchair access but disabled guests would need to use my sons downstairs bedroom and not the guest room.

We only take one student at a time unless guests prefer to travel together and then we can take more. We can accommodate a family of 4.

Proposed activities:

A typical day with us

In term time we all have breakfast together and then I walk our kids to school and sometimes run home. I work flexibly part time, shop, cook meals. We are happy to help with language learning during the day for an hour or 2 and take you to see places, go for walks etc. In the evenings we all eat dinner together and some evenings the kids have clubs to go to. We play board games and play in the garden, we have a large garden with trampoline, climbing frame and football net. On weekends and in school holidays we do outdoor activities with the kids, go to the beach, go for walks in Dartmoor National Park and by the coast. We like to go swimming in the local pool or in the river or beach. We like being sociable with friends, having barbeques etc. I play netball and Glyn plays football once a week. The kids also go to a football club. We also like to go for bike rides (The Exe trail), go to the cinema, music gigs, sports, bowling, aquarium etc. Devon is a great place to live. You can do paid activities like River Dart Country Park, cinema trip, paddleboarding etc. whatever you like at the time. We are easygoing people.

  • Single room
  • Nearest public transport stop:
    Bus stop downhill 800 yards, nearest train Newton Abbot

Paid options organized by the family

The nearest airports are Exeter (20 minutes) and Bristol (1hour 45 minutes) away.
From Plymouth ferry terminal you can walk for 20 minutes (or taxi) to Plymouth Train station. From here there are frequent trains towards London that stop at Newton Abbot which is the closest station to us (about 30 mins on train).
There is an infrequent bus from Newton Abbot to Ashburton, but we are happy to collect from here.
From London Paddington Station there is a direct train to Newton Abbot (on the line to Penzance).

  • Paid activities
  • Climbing centre taster session
  • Plymouth aquarium
  • River Dart Country Park Outdoor Activities
  • Cinema
  • Stand up Paddleboarding (summer)
  • Surfing lesson (spring to autumn)
  • Ashburton Arts centre music gig
  • Airport or station pick-up
  • Newton abbot train station
  • Exeter airport
  • Totnes train station
  • Plymouth ferry terminal
  • Bristol Airport

Comments of previous guests

Mathieu

Séjour très enrichissant dans une famille adorable

  •      
  • 5/5
  • -
  • Mathieu
  • -
  • on 2022/06/03

Notre fille a passé une semaine formidable dans une famille particulièrement chaleureuse, qui s'est montrée très disponible pour s'occuper d'elle, et faire en sorte qu'elle découvre toutes les beautés de cette région. Ce premier séjour en Angleterre n'aurait pas pu être plus réussi !

Your stay is safe with us

Language homestays for everyone

  • A team available 7 days a week
  • AXA TRAVEL ASSISTANCE
    protects you during the stay
  • The payments are secure

From 600 € / week

Your stay at Cara's home
  • E-mail verified
  • Phone number verified
  • Graduate language teacher
  • Verified Profile
  • Quality Charter
PRICES and OPTIONS available by clicking on the BOOK button.


Need some help ?
We speak English:
    00 337 49 08 56 74